Events: Details

Putting Open Social Scholarship Into Practice

Category: Seminar
Description:

Day 1: December 8 CAN / December 9 AUS

2pm-2.15pm PST / 5pm-5.15pm EST / 9am-9.15am AEDT: Welcome by Ray Siemens (UVic), Rachel Hendery (Western Sydney U), Hugh Craig (U Newcastle), Erin McCarthy (U Newcastle), and Alyssa Arbuckle (UVic)

2.15pm-3.10pm PST / 5.15pm-6.10pm EST / 9.15am-10.10am AEDT: Featured Panel

Priorities in Open Scholarship: Researchers; Chair: Clare Appavoo (Canadian Research Knowledge Network)

  1. Tully Barnett (Flinders U), “The Page and its Digital Facsimiles: Using Creative Workshops to Explore the Conceptual Architecture of Digital Textual Infrastructure” [Abstract]
  2. Susan Brown (U Guelph), “The Evolution of a Linked Data Ecosystem for Canada” [Abstract]
  3. Constance Crompton (U Ottawa), “Renewing Older Media and Older Politics: The Sociality of Making Scholarship Open”
  4. Inba Kehoe (UVic),”Open Scholarship and its impact on Higher Education” [Abstract]
  5. Amanda Lawrence (RMIT), “Multisector Research Publishing in a Multicentric Policymaking Ecosystem” [Abstract]
  6. Deb Verhoeven (U Alberta), “Scholarship in a Clopen World” [Abstract]

3.10pm-3.15pm PST / 6.10pm-6.15pm EST / 10.10am-10.15am AEDT: Break

3.15pm-3.55pm PST / 6.15pm-6.55pm EST / 10.15am-10.55am AEDT: Lightning Talks

Lightning talk cluster #1, Open Scholarship Community Concerns; Facilitator: Kim Martin (U Guelph)

  1. John Maxwell (Simon Fraser U), “The Care-ful Reviewer: Peer Review as if People Mattered” [Abstract] [Recording]
  2. Graham Jensen (UVic) and Talya Jesperson (UVic), “New Pastures: Expanding the Canadian Humanities and Social Sciences Commons” [Abstract] [Recording]
  3. Paul Arthur (Edith Cowan U), Nikos Koutras (Edith Cowan U), and Lydia Hearn (Edith Cowan U), “Open Digital Scholarship for Creative Industries: A Review through the Lens of Copyright Governance” [Abstract] [Recording]
  4. Jon Saklofske (Acadia U), “Open Social Pedagogy: Modelling Foundational OSS Values in the University Classroom” [Abstract] [Recording]

Lightning talk cluster #2, Open Social Scholarship on the Ground; Facilitator: Jon Bath (U Saskatchewan)

  1. Tyne Daile Sumner (U Melbourne), “The Australian Cultural Data Engine: Putting Cultural Data to Work” [Abstract] [Recording]
  2. Magnus Pfeffer (Stuttgart Media U), Zoltan Kacsuk (Stuttgart Media U), Simone Schroff (U Plymouth), and Martin Roth (Ritsumeikan U) “Harmonizing Open Licenses among Online Databases of Enthusiast Communities: Challenges Encountered in the Legal Integration of Databases in the Japanese Visual Media Graph Project” [Abstract] [Recording]
  3. Kelsey Dufresne (North Carolina State U) and Micah Vandegrift (North Carolina State U), “The Digital, the Multimodal, & the Fermentable: Public Knowledge Sharing with Fermentology” [Abstract] [Recording]

3.55pm-4pm PST / 6.55pm-7pm EST / 10.55am-11am AEDT: Closing by John Maxwell (Simon Fraser U)


Day 2: December 9 CAN / December 10 AUS

2pm-2.15pm PST / 5pm-5.15pm EST / 9am-9.15am AEDT: Welcome by Ray Siemens (UVic), Tully Barnett (Flinders U), and Alyssa Arbuckle (UVic)

2.15pm-3.10pm PST / 5.15pm-6.10pm EST / 9.15am-10.10am AEDT: Featured Panel

Priorities in Open Scholarship: Partners; Chair: Laura Estill (St. Francis Xavier U)

  1. Clare Appavoo (Canadian Research Knowledge Network), “Partnership in Action: CRKN’s Approach to Strategic Partnership in Digitized Documentary Heritage” [Abstract]
  2. Jonathan Bengtson (UVic), “Five Years Makes All the Difference: Towards a Canadian National Heritage Digitization Strategy” [Abstract]
  3. Ian Duncan (Australian Research Data Commons), “Putting Open Social Scholarship into Practice: What Does that Actually Mean for Researchers?” [Abstract]
  4. Susan Haigh (Canadian Association of Research Libraries), “Toward Open Scholarship: Did COVID Accelerate the Transition?” [Abstract]
  5. Gabriel Miller (Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences), “Strategies for Open Scholarship” [Abstract]
  6. Tanja Niemann (Érudit), “The Coalition Publica” [Abstract]

3.10pm-3.15pm PST / 6.10pm-6.15pm EST / 10.10am-10.15am AEDT: Break

3.15pm-3.55pm PST / 6.15pm-6.55pm EST / 10.15am-10.55am AEDT: Lightning Talks

Lightning talk cluster #3, Open Social Scholarship in the Humanities, Arts, and Social Sciences; Facilitator: Constance Crompton (U Ottawa)

  1. Rosalind Smith (Australian National U) and Mitchell Whitelaw (Australian National U), “Reimagining (and Redesigning) the First Line Index: The Early Modern Women’s Complaint Index” [Abstract] [Recording]
  2. Craig Harkema (U Saskatchewan), Kyle Dase (U Saskatchewan), and Brent Nelson (U Saskatchewan), “Gaining Perspective: Data Visualization as Prototyping of the Social Network of Early Modern Collectors of Curiosities” [Abstract] [Recording]
  3. Anke Finger (U Connecticut) and Virginia Kuhn (U Southern California), “Shaping the Digital Dissertation: Knowledge Production in the Arts and Humanities” [Abstract] [Recording]
  4. Luis Meneses (Vancouver Island U), “Maintaining Open Digital Scholarship Infrastructures in the Arts and Humanities” [Abstract] [Recording]

Lightning talk cluster #4, Opening Up Scholarship; Facilitator: Lynne Siemens (UVic)

  1. Graham Jensen (UVic), “Designing Digital Commons to Support Open Social Scholarship” [Abstract] [Recording]
  2. Joanne Carey (U British Columbia Okanagan), Donna Langille (U British Columbia Okanagan), Madelaine Lekei (U British Columbia Okanagan), Fiona McDonald (U British Columbia Okanagan), “The Institute for Community Engaged Research (ICER) Press” [Abstract] [Recording]
  3. Alyssa Arbuckle (UVic), Randa El Khatib (U Toronto Scarborough), Graham Jensen (UVic), and Caroline Winter (UVic), with Ray Siemens (UVic), “Surveying the Open Social Scholarship Critical Landscape: Connection, Training, Community, Policy” [Abstract] [Recording]

3.55pm-4pm PST / 6.55pm-7pm EST / 10.55am-11am AEDT: Closing by Alyssa Arbuckle (UVic)

When: Wednesday 08 December, 2021 2:00 pm PST - Thursday 09 December, 2021 4:00 pm PST
Where: Online
Website: https://inke.ca/putting-open-social-scholarship-into-practice/
Submitted by: Canadian Social Knowledge Institute (C-SKI)
Tags:
  1. digital humanities
  2. ETCL
  3. INKE
December
S M T W T F S
      1 2 3 4
5 6 7 8 9 10 11
12 13 14 15 16 17 18
19 20 21 22 23 24 25
26 27 28 29 30 31